Looking for something to do or not sure how to

keep the kids occupied during the holidays?

Browse what's on in our calendar of upcoming events

Essex County Councils

The local government body for the county of Essex is Essex County Council; however, some key responsibilities relating to the provision of services to the people of Essex are also provided by District and Borough Councils, Unitary Authorities, and Town and Parish Councils.

Within the county of Essex there are twelve district and borough councils and two unitary authorities. Many of the day to day services that affect people are the responsibility of the district and borough councils. The duties of these councils include housing, local planning, refuse collection, street cleaning, organising elections and maintaining the electoral roll.

The two unitary authorities are areas where a single council is responsible for the provision of services that elsewhere are divided between district and borough councils.

There are nearly 300 town and parish councils within Essex. A list of the town and parish councils can be found on the essex.gov.uk Essex Parishes Map.

Please note that when you click on a link you will be leaving the Essex Tourist Guide, and therefore we cannot accept responsibility for the content or suitability of these sites.

Essex County Council

Essex County Council
County Hall, Market Road, Chelmsford, Essex CM1 1QH
Telephone: 08457 430 430
Email: contact@essex.gov.uk
Website: www.essex.gov.uk

District and Borough Councils

Basildon Council
The Basildon Centre, St. Martin's Square, Basildon, Essex SS14 1DL
Telephone: 01268 533333
Email: customerservices@basildon.gov.uk
Website: www.basildon.gov.uk
Braintree District Council
Causeway House, Bocking End, Braintree, Essex CM7 9HB
Telephone: 01376 552525
Email: csc@braintree.gov.uk
Website: www.braintree.gov.uk
Brentwood Borough Council
Town Hall, Ingrave Road, Brentwood, Essex CM15 8AY
Telephone: 01277 312500
Email: enquiries@brentwood.gov.uk
Website: www.brentwood.gov.uk
Castle Point Borough Council
Kiln Road, Thundersley, Benfleet, Essex SS7 1TF
Telephone: 01268 882200
Email: info@castlepoint.gov.uk
Website: www.castlepoint.gov.uk
Chelmsford City Council
Duke Street, Chelmsford, Essex CM1 1JE
Telephone: 01245 606606
Website: www.chelmsford.gov.uk
Colchester Borough Council
Rowan House, 33 Sheepen Road, Colchester, Essex CO3 3WG
Telephone: 01206 282222
Website: www.colchester.gov.uk
Epping Forest District Council
Civic Offices, High Street, Epping, Essex CM16 4BZ
Telephone: 01992 564000
Email: contactus@eppingforestdc.gov.uk
Website: www.eppingforestdc.gov.uk
Harlow Council
Civic Centre, The Water Gardens, Harlow, Essex CM20 1WG
Telephone: 01279 446655
Email: contact@harlow.gov.uk
Website: www.harlow.gov.uk
Maldon District Council
Council Offices, Princes Road, Maldon, Essex CM9 5DL
Telephone: 01621 854477
Email: contact@maldon.gov.uk
Website: www.maldon.gov.uk
Rochford District Council
Council Offices, South Street, Rochford, Essex SS4 1BW
Telephone: 01702 546366
Website: www.rochford.gov.uk
Tendring District Council
Town Hall, Station Road, Clacton on Sea, Essex CO15 1SE
Telephone: 01255 686868
Website: www.tendringdc.gov.uk
Uttlesford District Council
Council Offices, London Road, Saffron Walden, Essex CB11 4ER
Telephone: 01799 510510
Email: uconnect@uttlesford.gov.uk
Website: www.uttlesford.gov.uk

Unitary Authorities

Southend on Sea Borough Council
Civic Centre, Victoria Avenue, Southend on Sea, Essex SS2 6ER
Telephone: 01702 215000
Email: council@southend.gov.uk
Website: www.southend.gov.uk
Thurrock Council
Civic Offices, New Road, Grays, Essex RM17 6SL
Telephone: 01375 652652
Website: www.thurrock.gov.uk