Useful resources - Public holidays

 

Public holidays, also known as bank holidays, are days when most businesses are closed; however there is an increasing number of larger businesses that do open on some public holidays. There's around eight public holidays each year, so it always pays to plan ahead and keep this in mind before making a journey. Although many attractions, shops and businesses in Essex stay open throughout the public holidays, please be sure to check opening times before visiting on the following days as some may be closed or only open for reduced hours.

 

Public Holidays 2019 2020
New Year's Day Tuesday 1st January Wednesday 1st January
Good Friday Friday 19th April Friday 10th April
Easter Monday Monday 22nd April Monday 13th April
Early May Bank Holiday Monday 6th May Monday 4th May
Spring Bank Holiday Monday 27th May Monday 25th May
Summer Bank Holiday Monday 26th August Monday 31st August
Christmas Day Wednesday 25th December Friday 25th December
Boxing Day Thursday 26th December Monday 28th December*

*substitute day as Bank Holiday falls on a weekend

 

Holiday fun in Essex

Want something to do or not sure how to keep the kids occupied during the holidays? Search for what's on in our Essex Events Calendar.

 

 

 

This site uses cookies to help deliver an engaging user experience.
To learn more about what cookies are and how to manage them visit AboutCookies.org