Useful resources - Public holidays

 

Public holidays, also known as bank holidays, are days when most businesses are closed; however there is an increasing number of larger businesses that do open on some public holidays. There's around eight public holidays each year, so it always pays to plan ahead and keep this in mind before making a journey. Although many attractions, shops and businesses in Essex stay open throughout the public holidays, please be sure to check opening times before visiting on the following days as some may be closed or only open for reduced hours.

 

Public Holidays 2017 2018
New Year's Day Monday 2nd January* Monday 1st January
Good Friday Friday 14th April Friday 30th March
Easter Monday Monday 17th April Monday 2nd April
Early May Bank Holiday Monday 1st May Monday 7th May
Spring Bank Holiday Monday 29th May Monday 28th May
Summer Bank Holiday Monday 28th August Monday 27th August
Christmas Day Monday 25th December Tuesday 25th December
Boxing Day Tuesday 26th December Wednesday 26th December

*substitute day as Bank Holiday falls on a weekend

 

Holiday fun in Essex

Want something to do or not sure how to keep the kids occupied during the holidays? Search through our Essex Events Calendar for some inspirational ideas. Check out these upcoming and recently added events!

 

Upcoming events

May1
01/05/2017 - 30/06/2017
RHS Garden Hyde Hall
Jun3
03/06/2017 - 30/06/2017
The View
Jun27
08:00 - 14:30
Burnham on Crouch High Street
Jun27
10:00 - 11:30
Hylands Park
Jun28
18:00 - 20:00
Tymperleys
Jun28
19:00 - 21:00
Firstsite
Jun29
Maldon Town Hall
Jun29
09:00 - 15:00
Butt Lane Car Park
Jun29
10:00 - 11:00
Epping Forest

 

Recently added events

Jun30
30/06/2017 - 02/07/2017
Tymperleys
Jun28
18:00 - 20:00
Tymperleys
Jul6
17:30 - 20:30
Tymperleys
Aug10
St Andrew's Church
Jul13
St Andrew's Church
Sep9
09/09/2017 - 01/10/2017
Colchester

 

 

 

 

 

 

This site uses cookies to help deliver an engaging user experience.
To learn more about what cookies are and how to manage them visit AboutCookies.org