Public holidays, also known as bank holidays, take place throughout the year to celebrate certain historical, religious and other special events.

Many of the attractions and businesses in Essex open throughout the public holidays with some operating reduced hours, but you may find that some do not open at all. We always recommend confirming opening times before travelling on public holidays.

Please bear in mind that public transport services may also be affected. Check out our 'Getting to and around Essex' page for useful contact details for public transport operators.

10th April Friday Good Friday
13th April Monday Easter Monday
8th May Friday Early May bank holiday (VE day)
25th May Monday Spring bank holiday
31st August Monday Summer bank holiday
25th December Friday Christmas Day
28th December Monday Boxing Day*


*When a bank holiday falls on a weekend, a substitute weekday becomes a bank holiday. This is usually the following Monday.

1st January Friday New Year’s Day
2nd April Friday Good Friday
5th April Monday Easter Monday
3rd May Monday Early May bank holiday
31st May Monday Spring bank holiday
30th August Monday Summer bank holiday
27th December Monday Christmas Day*
28th December Tuesday Boxing Day*


*When a bank holiday falls on a weekend, a substitute weekday becomes a bank holiday. This is usually the following Monday.

14th February Friday Valentine's Day
22nd March Sunday Mother's Day
29th March Sunday Daylight Saving Time Starts
21st June Sunday Father's Day
4th October Sunday Grandparent's Day
25th October Sunday Daylight Saving Time Ends
31st October Saturday Halloween
5th November Thursday Bonfire Night (Guy Fawkes)
8th November Sunday Remembrance Day